Ahoy Carrot Cake!

Last night we had a sailing themed party for our friend Allison’s birthday! She requested carrot cake and lucky for her, I have just the recipe! I found it years ago somewhere on the interwebs… not sure of the original source. But it’s perfection. Spicy, crumbly, souped up carroty perfection!

I was going to cut it into a sailboat but the crumbliness of this cake is nuts. So we lucked out big time when we found these amazing sailboat ornaments at Crate and Barrel. Nerd did the artwork and it ended up amazing!

We also lucked out BIG TIME in our costumes! The Goodwills here have been so good to us when we’ve needed costumes. I even found a sweet pair of Nine West Grey boots for $8.50! I think the shirt I found was a legit vintage navy shirt! It even had a little flap in the back. What are those for?! It was perfect! Nerd went for the whale boat captain look!


Note: Our Christmas tree! I’ll post pictures of it in all it’s glory in a few days. Waiting on a few more decorations :)


Carrot Cake Recipe just for you. You’ll thank me, I promise!


2 cups sifted flour

2 tsp baking powder

1.5 tsp baking soda

1.5 tsp salt

1 T cinnamon (the original recipe called for 2 tsp, but I’m a cinnamon freak, so adjust according to your tastes)

2 cups sugar

1.5 cups grated carrots

8 oz crushed pineapple

1/2 cup chopped nuts (mmm walnuts)

3.5 oz flaked coconut

1.5 cups oil

4 eggs



1/2 cup butter

1 tsp vanilla

8 oz cream cheese

16 oz powdered sugar



-Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

– Sift together flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon.

– Add sugar, oil, and eggs; mix well.

– Add carrots, pineapple, nuts and coconut; mix thoroughly

– Pour into 3 (9 inch) round cake pans that have been greased and floured (this is what the recipe calls for, I use all kinds of different size pans, and I always use greased wax paper, it’s easiest to get out this way.)

-Baking times vary. I would check at 25 minutes. But in my new (old) oven it took 45 minutes! It should be moist, just make sure the edges don’t get too browned and crisp. I usually stick a knife in, should come mostly clean.

-Remove from oven, cool for a few minutes and put on wire racks. Let cool thoroughly before decorating!


Cream the butter and cream cheese with a mixer then add the vanilla and powdered sugar. Beat until smooth.

Frost and enjoy!!!



2 thoughts on “Ahoy Carrot Cake!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
The Esquire Theme.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

